Author Topic: Bit premature for planting out?  (Read 2060 times)

javahart

• Quarter Acre
    • My veg blog
Bit premature for planting out?
« on: April 24, 2010, 10:23:18 »
This is my first full season and I'm edgy about planting out certain stuff.

I've sown, grown and nurtured the following:  baby sweetcorn, squash, pumpkin, courgette & basil.  All the seedlings look strong and have been hardened off and been completely outside for past 48 hours.

I'm planning on planting them out this weekend but is this too early?

Wilder

• Quarter Acre
Re: Bit premature for planting out?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2010, 10:45:12 »
I'm a bit new to this too and can't see where you are, but I'm told nightime temps are the issue. My Tomatoes, courgettes, peppers etc., are happy enough all day on my southfacing balcony but this past Wednesday night I forgot some peppers, it was cold and they almost bought it, so my very inexpereinced feeling is yes if you use fleece , cloches, etc

I put my beans in last year at this time after hardening them off and they didn't make it but that might have been root disturbance.
St Leonard's on Sea

grannyjanny

• PMs
  • Hectare
  • Lives in Cheshire. Light sandy soil. Loves no dig.
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2010, 12:27:06 »
I think I'd leave it a bit longer. I not far from you & haven't even sown my seeds yet.

Bugloss2009

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2010, 12:31:41 »
me too. Done basil as a house plant, but haven't even thought of sowing the rest yet

btw apart from the swetcorn, those plants are slug food, esp. when they're small

flitwickone

• Half Acre
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2010, 12:42:32 »
mine are ll out of the cold frame and getting a bit of sun i wont plant out for another 2-3 weeks yet no rush

landimad

• Hectare
  • Me wheels have gone again. Northants UK
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2010, 12:51:32 »
I think it should be ok to get going after the weekend.
Weather is getting warmer and the frosts less likely.