Author Topic: hello...newbie here!  (Read 2111 times)

absolutebeginner

• Not So New ...
hello...newbie here!
« on: April 12, 2010, 10:55:59 »
Hello everyone, having been reading for several weeks i felt it was time to introduce myself.
i've just got an allotment after 3 long years on the waiting list!! well i say on the waiting list, but when i rang them a few weeks ago to find out where i was on the list they had lost my details and i wasn't even on the list!! :o had visions i can tell you of having to wait another 3 years as apparently that's the usual wait here, but had a phone call last week to have a look at my allotment

it is half of a very large one that had belonged to a man in his nineties, who had worked it for years but just become too frail to carry on with it, so a bit of work to get it up together...lots of weeds but not too bad  :) there is also loads of rubbish there that the council said that they would take away.
i got the paperwork on Friday, rushed up to the town hall to get everything signed and sealed...so tis all official! ;D

i'm an absolute beginner to veggie gardening (well any gardening really) so am sure that i will have loads and loads of questions over the coming weeks. we have started by planting some taters which we put in yesterday...just hope they do ok as it was a bit of a rush job...next plan i think is to look at onions and carrots and squashes...i also wanted to put some asparagus in too...well everything really, but think i need to be realistic especially as a beginner lol just not enough hours in the day with the kids and work!

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
Re: hello...newbie here!
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2010, 11:05:25 »
Hi, and welcome to the site! Ask whatever you want, we've all been beginners at some point- I've had my plot 3 years now but still ask very basic questions. Let us know whereabouts in the country you are asthat can make a doifference to the advice.