Author Topic: Grow Your Own - Is it worth it?  (Read 8220 times)

allaboutliverpool

• Hectare
  • allaboutliverpool.com
    • My Allotment in Liverpool
Re: Grow Your Own - Is it worth it?
« Reply #20 on: March 19, 2010, 23:47:25 »
As everyone can see from my photos, all the paths in my plot are paved. I work as a GP locally and manage to nip to the plot in my suit and nice shoes and do a bit of work between visits and surgeries.

The worst part is keeping my hands clean as I hate gardening with gloves on.

Putting things into perspective, our annual 1 weeks ski holiday for three of us costs about £4000.

The same amount has given me 4 years of allotment pleasure.

goodlife

• Hectare
« Reply #21 on: March 20, 2010, 00:50:43 »
well...there you are....
Im sure membership in gym and buying all the fruit, berries,flowers and veg would cost me many times more...
I don't think I could afford to buy that amount of fruit from supermarket :o....their prices for a punnet of raspberries etc.... :o :o :o

Jeannine

• Hectare
  • Mapleridge BC Canada
« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2010, 04:14:52 »
Is it worth it...yes. However I guess that depends on which way you look at things.

I couldn't count the cost or set up an accounting system primarily because I  wouldn't know where to start as I share so much of what I get, be it extra veggies or extra seeds ....so why do I do it.

Growing your own is not just about veggies and fruit, there is an emotional bond with the earth that draws me..when I see what at a tiny seed can grow into and know I was responsible for that it gives tremendous feeling of accomplishment.

I sort of feel we should try to be somewhat self sufficient that comes from the Mennonite in me I suppose. I would not pay for someone to do anything for me if I was able to do it myself, that goes for just about anything from wallpapering a room to clipping a dog.