Author Topic: Cut flowers from the lottie  (Read 2683 times)

SpeedyMango

• Acre
    • Plot Blog
Cut flowers from the lottie
« on: November 11, 2004, 13:11:01 »
Hello.

A question from a beginner, and apologies if this has already been discussed...

I am thinking of setting aside a part of my plot next year to grow some "cut" flowers (if that's the right term).

1) What would people recommend for a complete beginner with flowers? When faced with the rows of seed packets in the garden centre I don't know where to start. Quite fancy some chrysanthemums, but don't know which are best/easiest to grow for cutting - or what else to try. We do like nice bright bold colours - oranges, purples, reds and so on (although not necessarily in the same vase!  :-X)

2) Can I just sow these things straight into the ground (in the Spring I assume?). I don't have a green house but I do have a sunny windowsill to start things off on, if required.

3) Do you have to use successional sowing to get a continuous crop of flowers or are all/some/only a few of them 'cut and come again'?

Any tips would be appreciated. I seem to be able to cope with most vegetables but have no idea where to start when it comes to the purely decorative stuff!

« Last Edit: November 11, 2004, 13:11:26 by SpeedyMango »

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
Re:Cut flowers from the lottie
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2004, 13:20:34 »
You are going to be showered with great advice here!