Author Topic: Digging in leaves  (Read 4216 times)

Sarah-b

• Acre
Digging in leaves
« on: November 09, 2004, 09:36:50 »
I have read about the goodness of leaf mold, but what would be the benefit or disadvantage of just digging a load of wet cherry leaves straight into the soil?
One clear benefit to me would be not having to build a dedicated leaf mold bin!

Thanks,
Sarah.

Gardengirl

• Hectare
Re:Digging in leaves
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2004, 09:45:37 »
I am not an expert  in these matters Sarah, but it seems to me that you probably don't have to go to the bother of having a leave mould bin.  After all, when I walk through our local woods, the soil there is just perfect that it is all from the leaves continually falling each year and making natural leaf mould without man's help ;) :)

Pat
Happy gardening all...........Pat

Doris_Pinks

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2004, 09:55:28 »
Sarah I think it is something to do with the time it takes for the leaves to break down into a friable compost. I have 2 leafmould bins and it has taken 2 years for the mix of leaves to break down into something I would put into my soil, but lovely stuff it is!! (different types of leaves decompose at different rates) My bins are only 4 poles driven into the ground with wire fencing wrapped round, and they can be any size or shape you want! The other option which works well is to put damp leaves into bin bags, with a couple os holes in the bottom, and chuck em somewhere you can't see them! Behind a shed is good! You just have to remember they are there ;D  But I still don't really know the answer to the original question! DP

BTW this may help http://www.hdra.org.uk/factsheets/making_leafmould.htm
We don't inherit the earth, we only borrow it from our children.
Blog: http://www.nonsuchgardening.blogspot.com/

rdak

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2004, 10:07:13 »