Author Topic: Value for money?  (Read 4183 times)

Palustris

• Hectare
Value for money?
« on: November 06, 2004, 19:22:12 »
Our polytunnel is in desparate need of a new cover. The cost with all the bits etc. is about £200. The cover is expected to last 5 years. So the question is are we going to get £40 value of stuff from it? At present we use the Tunnel for tomatoes, peppers, gourds, chilles, overwintering and early starting. (Plus chicken dust baths and dry cat toilet). Your opinions would be most welcome.
Gardening is the great leveller.

Roy Bham UK

• Hectare
  • Let's press flesh
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/roybhamuk
Advice from a total novice.
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2004, 21:35:49 »
Unless money's no object, I'd be inclined to patch the old cover and make it last another 5 years, otherwise you may as well go down the super-market for crops. ::)

Palustris

• Hectare
Re:Value for money?
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2004, 21:48:11 »
The old cover is really beyond any repair, and worse still, the light can no longer get through the moss growing on it!

ina

• Hectare
    • My Homepage
Re:Advice from a total novice.
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2004, 22:43:28 »
Unless money's no object, I'd be inclined to patch the old cover and make it last another 5 years, otherwise you may as well go down the super-market for crops. ::)

I disagree with you Roy. I doubt many people grow their own veggies and fruit in the first place to save money, I know I don't.

Roy Bham UK

• Hectare
  • Let's press flesh
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2004, 22:58:01 »
Ina I thought Eric was talking about the economics, I was offering a solution ???

john_miller

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2004, 23:13:27 »