Author Topic: A few birds!  (Read 2872 times)

Palustris

• Hectare
A few birds!
« on: December 23, 2009, 21:09:45 »

Taken yesterday in the cold and frost!
« Last Edit: December 23, 2009, 21:13:11 by Palustris »
Gardening is the great leveller.

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
Re: A few birds!
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2009, 22:40:00 »
They are fun to watch at times in the back garden.  I am not too good at breed names but we get loads of different birds on a daily basis.  We have 5 separate bird feeding areas around the garden - 2 nut feeders,  1 seed feeder,  1 bird table, and last but not least... the ground ;D (some birds prefer to ground feed).  Always busy. 

Today was my first attempt at making seed fat-balls. I will tie them to the bird table tomorrow and see how they go; hopefully they won't fall apart after the first peck ::) ::)
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

Ninnyscrops.

• Hectare
  • downtoearth
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2009, 23:06:31 »
Lovely pictures, I find watching birds one of the best time wasters in my book.

We've had great tits, blue tits, robins (chasing off both of those), nuthatches (trying to bury sunflower seeds in any crack underneath the garden table!), a cheeky magpie, a daft pigeon still working out how to get down to the feeders, but this week but my favourites were a few longtailed tits yesterday and 3 coal tits today (only ever seen the latter one at a time) plus the ever present squirrel. Sparrows and blackbirds on the ground and the wren is still hiding out in the conifer by the pond. Who said the garden slept in winter?  :)

Ninny

lorna

• Hectare
  • March. Cambridgeshire
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2009, 23:11:01 »
Great photos Eric. I only get sparrows, blackbird, goldfinches, starling and collared doves. I usually go out early and put food on ground so that my blackbird can feed before the others wake up.

Carol

• Hectare
  • Scottish Borders, Berwickshire