Author Topic: rotating squash  (Read 1306 times)

gwynnethmary

• Hectare
  • Hartlepool
rotating squash
« on: November 17, 2009, 08:47:51 »
Hi- I asked this question at the end of an older post, so maybe it hasn't been spotted, so thought I'd better ask it again!  I must admit I hadn't thought of including squash in my plans for my hopefully soon-to-be lottie, but on trawling through the postings (as one does!) I've been inspired by the wonderful harvesting pics. Where does squash come in the rotating beds scenario?  Does it actually need to rotate, or can it grow on the same ground every year?  And will it grow in the North-East outdoors?  I would have a small greenhouse, but how much space would it need?  As you can tell, I'm a novice where veg are concerned.

chriscross1966

• Hectare
  • Visionhairy
Re: rotating squash
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2009, 09:47:39 »
We don't reeally get any of the major squash pests in this country, especially up north so you could leav it in one place for a while but it is a gross feeder adn you'd be better off rotating it. They get a bit big for greenhouses though polytunnels wouldn't be a bad idea especially up north, it's always a good idea to start squash off indoors with heat, harden them off then plant them out.. Chose a variety that has a short growing season, or at least tolerates one such as Winter Festival rather than the long season habits of Butternuts. It makes a pretty good clearing crop (pour out some piles of manure, cover the ground with weed mulch, cut holes through to the mounds, plant squash in the mounds) as it's enormous foliage and rampant growth habits will generally do for most weeds. Given how much space it takes up it's almost worth treating it as an extra unit in the rotation, possibly  combine it up with something like sweetcorn and put it in before potatoes....

Rotation would then be:
Squash/sweetcorn (manure)
Potatoes (more manure)
Brassicas (lime)
Beans and peas (compost if you can)