Author Topic: General questions  (Read 2195 times)

robertw

General questions
« on: September 26, 2009, 16:57:08 »
Hi. I've just got a plot which was apparently just grass/lawn (a few weeds in the corners which I will have to deal with!), but the farmer has rotivated this for me. Being a complete novice - this is my first allotment - the only thing I've noticed is the ground is quite stoney.

Question 1: I presume I should remove these stones/pebbles?

Question 2: Will the rotivated grass/soil contain enough top-soil, or will I need to buy compost/top soil??

Any general hints on what to do at this stage (ie. Almost into October) will be much appreciated. I'm 99% decided NOT to put raised beds in! I really just want to get the plot prepared in the best way for early next year when I'll start planting and (hopefully!) growing.

Many many thanks everybody!!
Rob  
« Last Edit: September 26, 2009, 16:58:40 by robertw »

shirlton

• Hectare
  • west midlands
Re: General questions
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2009, 17:05:45 »
Welcome to the site Robert.The only advice I can give you is dig the plot and get the weeds out before you do anything. A patch at a time if I were you and then get something in so that you will get a bit of encouragement from seeing your stuff grow.If its been grass then the soil should be quite good for the first year. Just get the big stones out and leave the rest. You will be able to plant overwintering onions and garlic. broad beans in October. You may be able to get hold of some brassica plants from a nursery. You will be able to put some fruit in as well if you want to.Whatever you decide have fun doing it ;D
When I get old I don't want people thinking
                      "What a sweet little old lady"........
                             I want em saying
                    "Oh Crap! Whats she up to now ?"

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2009, 17:25:24 »