Author Topic: Bindweed Problem Question  (Read 11761 times)

muddylou

• Half Acre
Bindweed Problem Question
« on: July 21, 2009, 23:03:30 »
Wasn't sure if to put this in the "Pests and Diseases" section as this is how I feel about it. It's my first year with an allotment, I dug deep and removed as many bits of root or weed during the late winter over the entire plot.
        I'm really pleased with the veg I've had and stuff growing now. The bindweed is starting to get me down though, not so much the stuff that's easy to pull up, but more the stuff that wraps around my stems and stalks of the veg I'm growing, thus me causing damage to them as I try to remove the weed.
        My plan is to let the bindweed grow as I remove crops (to leave empty beds) and then paint it all with Glysophate (sp). I'd then leave the raised beds untouched until November when I intend to plant onions and garlic in one of them.
         Can anyone see an obvious problem with this that I haven't thought about, I know it's a chemical but I would really like to address the weed problem  before next year.

Sparkly

• Hectare
    • Flixton Band (Manchester)
Re: Bindweed Problem Question
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2009, 23:11:19 »
Glyphosphate will work on the bindweed, but you will probably need to use it a number of times. The only (short-term) answer is to pull it before before it starts to wrap. The long-term answer is dig (again and again and again) or keep painting with weedkiller. You will get there......

Glyphosphate if inactivated as soon as it touches the soil so you can plant straight away no need to wait.

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2009, 23:25:12 »
It was recommended to me to put the green growth of the bindweed in a plastic bag and then spray the chemical into the bag.  I have found it works quite well.  Less drifts around and it seems to concentrate the stuff on the plant. 

Eristic

• Hectare
  • NW London (Brent)