Author Topic: Second Flush!  (Read 4574 times)

Wicker

• Hectare
Second Flush!
« on: September 22, 2004, 17:27:14 »
I'm learning again  :D  Hollyhocks and delphiniums are both sputting up new growth from the ground - surely they won't flower?  this is my first year with both these perennial flowers so am a bit ignorant and this is the best palce to ask isn't it? ::)
Equality isn't everyone being the same, equality is recognising that being different is normal.

Palustris

• Hectare
Re:Second Flush!
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2004, 18:27:07 »
It depends on where you live, how severe the weather is and whether you want the new shoots to flower. In most years, in most places this new growth will die back in late Autumn or early Winter in the same way as any hebaceous perennial plant does. Just keep an eye on it for any fungus diseases and chop it back to ground level if any appears.
The seasons are all very mixed up at present, we have various things in flower which normally appear in Spring and new growth on a wide range of stuff.
Gardening is the great leveller.

Doris_Pinks

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2004, 18:49:31 »
My Mum's Delphs are ready to do a second flowering! I cut back the flowers when they had finished, it is see if the frost gets there before the bloom or not! DP
We don't inherit the earth, we only borrow it from our children.
Blog: http://www.nonsuchgardening.blogspot.com/

Wicker

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2004, 19:13:15 »
thanks both.  they put on a lovely show earlier in the year and I had cut the flower stems down after they were finished.  Will keep an eye out for fungus, Eric.  Think the autumn/winter will be too cold in Edinburgh for them to last long!
Equality isn't everyone being the same, equality is recognising that being different is normal.

Spurdie

• Acre
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2004, 20:44:09 »
 ;D Wicker,