Author Topic: Carrot failure?  (Read 2611 times)

Bjerreby

• Acre
  • Can't wait till spring........
Carrot failure?
« on: May 05, 2009, 07:19:13 »
This is my first year growing carrots.

I have read "expert" advice on growing carrots, and it seems very contradictory to me. Water. Don't water. Feed. Don't feed. Add compost. Don't add anything. Recommended sowing depth varies between 5 and 15 mm, which doesn't agree with the general rule that sowing depth is twice the size of the seed.

Charles Dowding says that after watering the drills, carrot seed should not be watered for at least 2 weeks. Well I followed his advice.

I sowed on 11th April in fine weather, the soil was about 10 degrees C. Since then, up to 2 days ago, it has been fine, dry and warm. I watered about 27th April, and then we had a bit of rain.

I haven't seen a single seedling yet, and I suspect thew whole business is a failure.

I suspect that sowing too deep can cause the seedlings to fail, and maybe that is why the experts recommend we don't water just after sowing........the water washes the tiny seeds down deep. Any thoughts on that?

I'd love some nice carrots, so can anyone pease give details of how deep they sow, soil preparation etc?

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: Carrot failure?
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2009, 07:26:05 »
I find that the two main reasons for failure are no germination, when the soil caps... hence no watering after sowing, and/or drying out. Then not loosing the tiny seedlings to slugs...  :-[

After ten years of trial and error what now works for me is... wait for wet soil, after or during prolonged rain... make drill, water it add seed cover thinly with sharp sand, tamp down with back of rake, water again finely to dampen sand... if it starts running too much water, cover with fleece (to keep sand damp) check if weather dry every three days or so to redampen sand....  carrots usually through within two weeks...  ;D