Author Topic: When do I know if my potatoes have failed  (Read 2019 times)

kennethc

When do I know if my potatoes have failed
« on: April 30, 2009, 23:12:28 »
Hi all,
First time to plant potatoes, which I did 4 weeks ago approx.  I planted 10 Wilja seed potatoes (2nd earlies) into the ground after digging and adding compost and after chitting them beforehand for 2 weeks approx.  There's no sign of growth above ground - have they failed or is there a way of checking?
I'm a complete novice.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Kenneth.

oliveoyl_25

• Half Acre
Re: When do I know if my potatoes have failed
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2009, 23:14:15 »
How much soil did you cover them with?  Have you watered them at all, as it's been so dry these past few weeks?

kennethc

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2009, 23:16:18 »
Covered with 6 inches of soil. Watered also but we've had rain in Kent.

oliveoyl_25

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2009, 23:36:19 »
Well I planted Charlotte 2nd earlies about 4 weeks ago too, not as deep, and there's nothing showing yet either. I planted some Anya 1st earlies about 6 weeks ago and they only started to show their heads last week (and again, probably not as deep as yours). I'm sure they'll be fine.

Eristic

• Hectare
  • NW London (Brent)
    • Down the Plot
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2009, 23:38:21 »
Good things come to those that wait. When they do eventually show they should gallop away.

SPUDLY

• Acre
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2009, 05:10:32 »
As has been said they should be fine. To give yourself piece of mind, uncover one and check. The green shoots should not be far from the top.

Trevor_D

• Hectare
  • north-west London
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2009, 07:55:28 »
Potatoes don't fail! Just be patient....

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2009, 08:04:18 »