Author Topic: Advice on making bitter!  (Read 4842 times)

SPUDLY

• Acre
Advice on making bitter!
« on: April 26, 2009, 22:31:33 »
Hi all,

I've taken the plunge and ordered myself a beer making starter kit, and a bitter to start with. Any advice fellow brewers can give would be much appreciated. :)

GlentoranMark

• Half Acre
Re: Advice on making bitter!
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2009, 22:40:49 »
Like yourself I'm a beginner but my first and most succesful brew was a bitter. Just make sure you follow instructions carefully and make sure everything is sterilised properly. I bought the kit as well, its really pretty easy. Just one very important point and it will be hard to do....

Let your beer mature for longer than the recommended. I promise you the best beer you will taste will be your last one. I brewed 40 pints and gave a few away but for a 2 month spell I had a decent beer most weekends. I really enjoyed it.

BTW I bottled mine in plastic 2L Coca Cola bottles. They are a great first choice as the yeast sticks to the indents at the bottom of the bottle. You need to decanter in one go into  jug and have to finish the bottle in one go - almost 4 pints  ;D

SPUDLY

• Acre
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2009, 22:55:33 »
Hi GlentoranMark,
Thanks for that. Just ordered the starter kit (should be here early this week). Kit has most of the stuff i need.
Fermentation Container
Pressure Barrel
Plastic Stirrer
Syphon Tube
Bubbler Airlock
Hydrometer
Thermometer
Steriliser
I like the idea of the plastic coke bottles. I like a chilled pint. Don't think the girlfriend would be happy with the barrel in the fridge ;D
Can you think of anything else i might need?

GlentoranMark

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2009, 23:12:58 »
The starter kit supplies all you need, just make sure you've a bag of sugar when the kit arrives. I've never brewed in a pressure barrel, I'd be interested to hear how you get on.