Author Topic: Peas - Advice Needed  (Read 1964 times)

cripery

• Not So New ...
Peas - Advice Needed
« on: April 19, 2009, 07:05:36 »
Hi There,

I am a fairly new gardener (vegetables for the first time) so excuse me if I ask silly questions.

I planted out my early onward peas on the 15th March. Only two have put up shoots so I pushed the soil back yesterday on the others and the pea seeds were there but they were all mushy and riddled with tiny little white worm type creatures. Can anyone tell me what these are and how to avoid it for next year?

Also will the soil be ok to grow other vegetables in or do I need to treat it, I have cats so I have to be careful what I put down.

Thanks  :(

Jeanbean

• Half Acre
  • Make the most of today....
Re: Peas - Advice Needed
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2009, 09:32:19 »
Hi Cripery and welcome to A4a. Hope you have a great growing season. I am unable to comment on the worm problem as I am new to this too. I have grown peas though in the past and do have some this year. I lost my first lot as they became waterlogged but I always plant them into individual pots first and then transplant them into the soil once they are about 4-6 inches high. This way I know that I have a pea at every support and if a pea doesn't show in the pot I try again. Some one will be along soon that does have the knowledge to help you. They are a pretty well informed lot on here.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2009, 09:40:53 »
Welcome to A4A Cripery...
The advice to start them off in pots is sound... they are mushy because they rotted the maggoty things are just cleaning up... not sure about the cats but as we put sh*t on anyway apart from putting your hands in it (yeuk!) there is no long term issue...  :)

phoenix_co2

• Quarter Acre
  • Never a dull moment
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2009, 11:09:53 »