Author Topic: Reusing compost  (Read 2720 times)

meg_gordon

• Half Acre
  • Ayr
Reusing compost
« on: April 19, 2009, 16:04:32 »
Hi all

I grow all my veggies in pots - and got a bit beyond myself last year and tried too many things (most got grey mould, potato blight, sciarids, and whatever cucumbers get that rots them) so this year I am back concentrating on potatoes and runner beans outside, courgettes, toms and cukes in greenhouse.  What I want to know is can I reuse the compost I grew onions in last year to grow runner beans this year?  I reused potato compost last year to grow peas and that was fine - just dont want to lose my harvest like last year.  Always put new growbags in the greenhouse so I am ok there.

Any advice?

Meg

phoenix_co2

• Quarter Acre
  • Never a dull moment
Re: Reusing compost
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2009, 17:07:48 »
I am a pot grower too, where do you think you went wrong??? this is my first year

Duke Ellington

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2009, 17:20:33 »
Before I had an allotment I used to grow my vegetables in containers. I used fresh compost every year and used the old compost as a mulch or dug it into my flower beds in the garden or sometimes added a bit to my compost bins. Containers being a confined spaced I really didn't want to risk transferring any pest or diseases to the next seasons vegetables. Some might think its wasteful but It really did work for me. :)

Duke
dont be fooled by the name I am a Lady!! :-*

meg_gordon

• Half Acre
  • Ayr
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2009, 17:30:40 »
Thanks Duke - I think I knew what the right thing to do was, but there just seems to be such a load of compost going to waste :)  Anyway, I have emptied the pots and cleaned them out, including sterilising.