Author Topic: Gardening career..?  (Read 23272 times)

Digitalis

• Acre
Gardening career..?
« on: March 29, 2009, 21:32:59 »
Is there much chance of having a successfulcareer in gardening/horticulture?

I'm still learning each day as I've recentlt got my first allotment, but I find the whole prospect of working in horticulture fascinating.

Anyway, I've seen a local course at King's Heath Park in Brum, and I'm seriously considering going for it. It's a two year HNC in Garden Design, for one day a week. It covers both design and general horticulture.

But is it worth it? Is there enough work out there? It would be great to be self-employed, but wouldn't work dry up in winter?

Should I just have gardening as an enjoyable hobby?

betula

• Hectare
Re: Gardening career..?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2009, 21:36:24 »
You will love Kings Heath Park school of Horticulture.

I spent two years there and finished last July.

As a jobbing gardener I have had too much work in the summer and not enough in the winter but there are so many ways to use those qualifications..

Digitalis

• Acre
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2009, 21:57:01 »
What do gardeners do during the winter to keep the money coming in?

Did you do the HNC, betula?

betula

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2009, 22:07:31 »
No,it would have cost me three thousand pounds and I can not justify it.

I have another half who keeps me in state of luxuryLOL

I have City and Guilds level two certificate.

I would say if you have not studied horticulture at a lower level you may find the course a little OTT.

Just my opinion. ;D

laurieuk

• Hectare
  • now retired
    • laurie mansers  garden hints
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2009, 22:25:10 »