Author Topic: Squash - help to grow!  (Read 11105 times)

reddyreddy

• Hectare
  • Everybody dies but not everybody lives...
Squash - help to grow!
« on: March 16, 2009, 10:13:29 »
I tried all sorts of squash last year and got zip from them. Any tips on how to suceed? Ie when to sow, where (greenhouse, etc) I adore them so would love a big crop! :D

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
Re: Squash - help to grow!
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2009, 15:31:38 »
It wasa bad year for squash last year- not enough sun! I'm no expert but I don't plan to sow mine until April at the earliest and I'mgoing toput them in the sunniest spot of the plot and hope for a good summer!

• Hectare
  • And all that ..... in Hastings
    • Promenade Plantings
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2009, 17:07:26 »
I tried squash last year and also didn't have a great success - so I'm going to put my inability to grow good squash down to the poor weather last year  ;D
I think one of the main things is that they really don't like cold and need long hot days, so I was planning on sowing seeds in april, then planting out sometime in may, but I'm going to try and warm the ground up (cover it) before hand to give them an extra boost. They are also hungry plants, so lots of manure (if you can get it) would be good as well
Which varieties are you trying this year?

shirlton

• Hectare
  • west midlands
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2009, 17:19:46 »
Sow mine in April as well. This year I am growing some up canes.
When I get old I don't want people thinking
                      "What a sweet little old lady"........
                             I want em saying
                    "Oh Crap! Whats she up to now ?"

spudsmummy

• Half Acre
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2009, 07:49:28 »
hi there
this is going to be my first growing year and i am going to try growing some squash. i am going to try baby boo, Uchiki Kuri, butternut and some from seeds i saved from last years halloween pumpkins.