Author Topic: Tempted to keep hens  (Read 3638 times)

tjamj

• Not So New ...
Tempted to keep hens
« on: March 05, 2009, 08:11:52 »
Hi, i work in a school and we have just had some living eggs delivered which are now hatching. I have been thinking of keeping hens for ages now but never took the plunge. We have an allotment but i'm thinking of keeping them at home because of security reasons and also it will be easier to care for them at home.

I'm worried about a few things really. Firstly the chicks will only be 2 1/2 weeks old when they leave the school, will it be possible to sex them accurately by then?

Also i was thinking about having 3 hens, how much space would i need for them and what sort of ground coverage would i need, eg grass etc, as the patch i'm thinking of keeping them on had bark chippings and not grass, what would i need to put down for them? Also what are the requirements for the actual housing? I dont really want to spend a fortune on one form the pet shop as hubby could make one but not sure what it needs to be like really.

And the biggie is foxes and rats. My husband is reluctant because someone told him they attract rats? And i'm really worried about the foxes as we have quite a few around here. What sort of protection could i provide against them and how effective is it normally?

Ok, last one, hubby is really proud of the garden and i would like them to have some time roaming the garden in the summer when we are out there. Do they make a real mess in the garden, digging up plants etc?

Sorry for all the questions but need to try to convince hubby and set up quickly if i'm to go for it. Am i right in thinking the chicks are ready to go outside at about 8 weeks?

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: Tempted to keep hens
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2009, 08:14:11 »
Welcome to the site Tjamj, It's a long time since I kept chickens so I'll let the others answer the Q's  :)

flowerofshona2007

• Hectare