Author Topic: Wine  (Read 4039 times)

sueshamen

• Not So New ...
Wine
« on: September 04, 2004, 12:29:30 »
How long does it take before you can bottle wine and drink it?
Made some rhubarb wine in May and it appears to have stopped working, tried a drop last night and it's really nice.
Also some of my other wines seem to have stopped after about 2 months or so. This is my first attempt at wine making so I'm not sure how long before I can bottle safely.

derbex

• Hectare
  • I've come about the reaping
Re:Wine
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2004, 10:43:09 »
If your rhubarb (and other wines) are still sitting on their sediments then I'd get them into other containers asap, either by bottling or racking. They can go off sitting on sediment.

Racking is moving from one big container (say a demijohn) to another.

When you say they've stopped working do you mean that bubbles have stopped coming through the airlock?

As soon as that has happened you can rack them into other demijohns and airlock them again to let more sediment drop out, optionally repeat this (can take weeks or months or years) and then bottle the wine. You may want to add the relevent number of Camden tablets to really stop the wine.

I think there are more detailed instructions on here somewhere. Otherwise try :

http://home.btconnect.com/ntruman/wine/index.html

I tend to work on at least a year before drinking, but less is easily possible, and if your rhubarb tastes ok now I'd enjoy it. Leave a couple of bottles for next year to see if it gets better with age. When you bottle it don't drink it immediately but give it a few weeks to mature.

Different wines take different times to mature, generally white wines are quicker than red.

Jeremy.

sueshamen

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2004, 21:35:32 »
Thanks Jeremy, really usefull info.
By "stopping working" I meant that no more bubbles are coming thro the air lock.
The wine has been racked twice already so there is no lees at all now.