Author Topic: Are your seeds organised?  (Read 5225 times)

nilly71

• Hectare
  • Romford,Essex
Are your seeds organised?
« on: February 02, 2009, 14:18:21 »
As i'm getting quite a few seeds now i thought i would make a list of the groups in alphabetical order i.e all types of beans under B.

I used excel and it's much quicker when someone askes for a seed swap or wanted.

I have bought an a5 diary and plan to start writing in when seeds are due to be sown, as i'm new to all this i didn't want to wait until it was too late and find out i should of sown some seeds a couple of months before :-[

How do you organise/plan your seeds?

Neil

thifasmom

• Hectare
  • Growing my own, rocks!!! Maidstone, Kent.
    • Kella's Creative Wishes: Handmade Jewellery & Lots more.
Re: Are your seeds organised?
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2009, 14:31:38 »
yes this is how i organise my sowing times as well but will take a ticket out of your book and list my varieties according to type and alphabetically and tape it into my seed box covers then I'll know what i have at a glance without having to go through the packets which are in the box alphabetically separated by dividers eg. a - d, e - h, etc. but the other box which have things like toms, beans, squashes, etc anything where i have many varieties of something have their own system of dividers, IE all the beans together, etc...

Garjan

• Acre
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2009, 14:43:54 »
Hi nilly

My seeds are stacked in a small filing cabinet, in alphabetical order (B = beans + varieties, beetroot + varieties).
I then put them in the same order in an Excell file.

Then I made 12 columns, one for every month, and marked the action for every month per variety (s = sow, p = plant, h = harvest) as some varieties are earlier than others. I used colors to indicate whether they need sowing "under glass" or outdoors.