Author Topic: wedding flowers  (Read 6378 times)

electric landlady

• Half Acre
  • digging, digging, digging (in Nottingham)
wedding flowers
« on: January 13, 2009, 17:28:49 »
Hello!
I am getting married next year (eek!) and am trying to figure out the most green, and cheapest, way of doing so. It occurred to me that I could grow my own bouquet and possibly some of the table decorations and other flowers.

I'm not a flower expert and would really appreciate suggestions for flowers that will be:

1. easy to grow (soil is fairly good if a bit heavy, I'm in Notts)
2. likely to last at least 24 hours once cut and stuck into some wet moss etc
3. attractive and appropriate in a weddingy situation
4. preferably purple/mauve/blue and/or have nice greeny-grey foliage and reasonably long stems
5. blooming in May or thereabouts

Is there such a flower?? Or should I do myself a nice bunch of PSB instead?

Thank you for any help!
 :)

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
Re: wedding flowers
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2009, 19:31:01 »
May is a difficult time of the year here in the UK.

The situation is you are at the transition between Spring and Summer, meaning that Spring flowers are virtually over and summer has not quite begun.

The other thing is; will we have a long or short winter next year? because this is the biggest factor to what will be in flower.

Having said that there are a few things that might be about such as these which I had in flower last May.

A word of warning I wouldn't guarantee that YOU would have them in flower then, simply because each of the plants I have pictured here have been in my garden a long time and are well established.

But at least they are food (flowers) for thought.

Muscari

Polyanthus

Wallflower;

Tulips;

Hellebors;

Digitalis/Foxglove;

Jasmine;

Oriental Poppy;

Clematis montana

Auricula;

Aquilegia;

[/img]

Berberis;

Bluebells;

Apple blossom;

Pear blossom;

Winter pansy;