Author Topic: Walnut leaves in leafmulch????  (Read 1505 times)

7oaks plot

• Not So New ...
Walnut leaves in leafmulch????
« on: December 23, 2008, 23:54:33 »
Ive been collecting leaves for about 18 months now, the last 6 months worth in one wire bin and the previous 12 months worth in another which has now turned into lovely dark brown soft crumbly stuff....but....i now read in last months "Grow your own" mag never to use Walnut tree leaves because they contain a chemical that activaly stops other plants from growing under the trees and never to add them to your compost heap......well guess what, yep, amongst other leaves ive put thousands of Walnut tree leaves in mine and now worry that i might have to throw 18 months worth of collecting away......im distraut.
Can anybody help me out here, ive read dozens of articals about leafmulch over the years and not once have i heard this before, the only leaves they suggest not composting are everygreen stuff like pine leaves etc because they takes years to break down and cause the results to be very acidic.......but never anywhere before did anybody ever mention walnut leaves, except for last months mag.......HELP.......ARRGGGGG

Anybody know anymore on this?

Deb P

• Hectare
  • Still digging it....
Re: Walnut leaves in leafmulch????
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2008, 00:25:04 »
I confess this was a new one on me too, so I've had a quick google and came up with this info......from that I think I would be tempted to try the 'tomato test' they suggest. It seems the roots are much more of a problem...