Author Topic: Lidl Wine  (Read 2362 times)

OllieC

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Nairn
Lidl Wine
« on: November 28, 2008, 19:55:00 »
Trying to get into the spirit of the Credit Crunch, we bought some wine from Lidls for about a fiver... It's an Australian Shiraz and not since I was a student have I tasted anything so vile.

Nothing should taste this bad.

Their Norwegian Smoked Salmon on the other hand is amazing - it's been properly starved prior to harvesting and so has none of that rancid oil taste you get on most British stuff.

Just goes to show you... Back to Majestic for me!

Emagggie

• Hectare
  • Out to lunch.
Re: Lidl Wine
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2008, 20:01:53 »
.Their Norwegian Smoked Salmon on the other hand is amazing - it's been properly starved prior to harvesting and so has none of that rancid oil taste you get on most British stuff.
What's this Ollie? Tell me more. Starved salmon? Nothing should be starved so someone thinks it tastes better. NOOoooo.  :o :o
Smile, it confuses people.

OllieC

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Nairn
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2008, 20:09:38 »
Oh, I don't think it's cruel... but hadn't given it much thought though & you know me... always happy to question my preconceptions. It does happen in the wild from time to time - most fish deposit a bit of fat when the times are good & use it up when there's less food about.

Wild Salmon would never deposit as much fat as farmed salmon, because the wild ones get exercise & less food... So, to end up with something pleasant, you starve them for a couple of weeks until most of their fat has been used up. Most supermarket stuff isn't starved, so they can get more weight per fish, and it's the fat that tastes rancid...

I don't think it's the same as starving a mammal... could be wrong though!

hellohelenhere

• Hectare
  • Reading, Berkshire
    • http://backgardenallotmenteer.blogspot.com/
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2008, 20:26:51 »