Author Topic: japanese onion seeds senshyu  (Read 3050 times)

hazelfhr

japanese onion seeds senshyu
« on: November 28, 2008, 12:26:20 »
can anyone tell me when to sew japanese onion seeds senshyu yellow i'm new to gardening but have been told these are mild onions and i would try these but dont know when to sew them .

cambourne7

• Hectare
  • Growing in the back garden having lost lotty
Re: japanese onion seeds senshyu
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2008, 12:55:13 »
Mine are in the ground :)

Are you growing in an allotment? You need to make sure that you have good drainage and you might want to wait for a spell of warm weather to help with germination :)

Good luck

Cam

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2008, 13:37:31 »
Personally I would say you are too late now for this year.

I have only grown them from seed a couple of times, and I wasn't really happy with the results.

But then again at that time I wasn't quite sure how to grow them or more to the point when to sow them.

Since then I find planting 'setts' the easiest way to grow them so I don't bother with the seed route anymore.

In fact this year was the first time in many years I have grown 'main crop' onions from seed and I was quite happy with the results. So much so I might have a go at growing some 'large' onions this year.

:o Which makes me think if I am going to do this I will have to be starting up within the next 4-6 weeks if I am going to get any success ::)

This is how I did my Japanese Onions ; http://www.thegardenersalmanac.co.uk/Data/Onions%20(Japanese)/Japanese%20Onions.htm

I don't know what seed sowing facilities you have but it might be worth while using just a few of the seeds you have and grow them like this;http://www.thegardenersalmanac.co.uk/Data/Onions/Onions.htm

Who knows you might have a bit of success i.e. nothing ventured nothing gained!!

manicscousers

• Hectare