Author Topic: Where do I start?  (Read 1974 times)

Mottsy

Where do I start?
« on: September 19, 2008, 19:53:41 »
Well after more than a year of waiting I finally have an allotment!

The wife's just been to take a peek and apparently it is overgrown with weeds.

So where do I start?

Obviously the weeds have got to go first so any advice for a total novice would be very welcome.

Thanks

Mottsy
« Last Edit: September 19, 2008, 19:55:17 by Mottsy »

KathrynH

• Acre
Re: Where do I start?
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2008, 20:10:50 »
Congratulations!You'll find plenty of advice here and no doubt from other plot holders. Some will suggest you cover the plot with black plastic or carpet for the winter to keep light from the weeds. However, I prefer to go the old fashioned way and dig them out. Hard work but worth it as you can get to every bit of root and start to feed the soil as you go. I wouls also advise using the soil as you clear it - there is something to plant all year round and not only does that help to prevent the weeds from regrowing but also gives you a bit of an incentice as you see a reward for all you hard work.

If you can clear the space, try to get some overwintering onions in next month, perhaps some broad beans (aquadulce for overwintering) and garlic in November. You could also plant some strawberry runners - other plot holders are likely to be digging them up and throwing them out over the next couple of months. You will then have something to look forward to next spring.

And most of all, don't try to do too much too soon and enjoy it! Good luck!

posie

• Hectare
  • Slowly winning??
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2008, 20:14:49 »
Hi Mottsy, welcome to A4A  :)