Author Topic: Complete novice !  (Read 3347 times)

B7jac

• Quarter Acre
Complete novice !
« on: September 21, 2008, 15:22:25 »
Hi everyone,
After reading some of your posts, i am very intrigued and would love to start having a go at wine making myself (even tho I'm not much of a wine drinker!)

Is it something that I could just 'have a go at' and only make a little ? or do I have to have loads of equipment and need to be serious about it?

Also can you advise me step by step or should I get a book ?

Thanks for any info you can give me !
You always love your children more than they love you...

Mojo_77

• Not So New ...
    • My Photos
Re: Complete novice !
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2008, 17:09:03 »
I'm very new to this too, and found CJJ Berry's First Steps in Winemaking very useful. Be careful though, it's addictive, I've been doing this for less than a month and currently have around 8 gallons blooping and fermenting away in various parts of my home! Only took it up because I have elderberries growing in the garden!

Baccy Man

• Hectare
  • Powys, Wales
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2008, 05:28:00 »
You don't have to spend a fortune to begin with.
You will need:
Steriliser
Demijohn (either glass or plastic)
Airlock & bung (just the airlock if using a plastic demijohn with grommet fitted)
Thermometer
Hydrometer & hydrometer jar
Syphon tube
Bottles
Corks & a corker to fit them.
I find a 10 litre bucket is extremely useful for the first stage of most 1 gallon wine recipes.
Look at the recipes you intend to try some common ingredients you may need & could buy at the same time are: citric acid, tartaric acid, malic acid, yeast, yeast nutrient, tannin, campden tablets and pectic enzyme.

It may be worth considering a starter kit as it would include most of the equipment you will need at a reduced price.
http://www.hamstead-brewing-centre.co.uk/itmidx9.htm