Author Topic: caterpillars  (Read 3395 times)

Chilipepper

• Half Acre
caterpillars
« on: August 24, 2008, 18:19:54 »
been to the lottie today and my cabbages and brussels are covered with caterpillars
have removed as many as I can , as im new to lotties anyone know anything to get rid of them?

STEVEB

• Acre
Re: caterpillars
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2008, 19:25:00 »
squish the little bleeders
If it ain't broke don't fix it !!

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2008, 19:48:13 »
Yes, but I vote with Steve's solution....  :-X

Trevor_D

• Hectare
  • north-west London
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2008, 20:42:23 »
Sudden influx yesterday. Sprayed 'em with Derris. I don't think it's killed them all, but they were all coughing a lot.

Chilipepper

• Half Acre
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2008, 22:09:49 »
there is hundreds and i mean hundreds id be there all day every day for a week if i had to squish em all

artichoke

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2008, 20:49:45 »
It's very depressing. My psbs have been reduced to skeletons. Yesterday I un-netted them, squished a lot of caterpillars (I had already sprayed them but they loved the spray), cut off the most infested leaves and threw them far away, and now that the netting is off I hope birds will eat them.

beanie3

• Half Acre
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2008, 21:16:14 »
One word - evil.....

My sprouting brocolli - are sprouting twigs - grrrr - i like butterflies and all but caterpillars dont eat MY veg!!!!!

star

• Hectare
  • Northampton, sm greenhouse, heated propagator
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2008, 22:04:47 »
Chillipepper, be persistant. Keep squishing.......I have been doing that for days, I think Im winning now. Have a rummage when you first get there, give it an hour then have another go.