Author Topic: help with fencing????????  (Read 2046 times)

brigitte

help with fencing????????
« on: August 11, 2008, 12:43:12 »
hi everyone. im new to this so bear with me!!!!!!! into my second week on new allotment at dane valley, margate, have managed to clear all weeds, brambles ect. (Feeling really proud of my self as i have done it all single handed) waiting for them to dry out to burn, carnt see that happening this week with all this rain coming but at least with all this rain it will soften the ground and i can start digging beds in. 
I have been searching internet for some cheap fencing, does any one know of any where, im just looking for basic chicken wire and posts to keep foxes out and mark bonderies. dont want to spend to much! Wickes do it but didnt know if any one knows if i can get it cheaper.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: help with fencing????????
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2008, 12:46:04 »
Welcome to the site Brigitte...
Nowhere near Margate myself. You are allowed fencing? not all sites are. Are rabbits a problem? In which case Chicken wire is a good idea, otherwise just some boundary posts and Bright washing line will do...  :-\

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2008, 12:47:13 »
It might be worth checking out agricultural supply merchants, something like  Kent Wool Growers in Ashford, but closer to you up in Thanet

brigitte

« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2008, 13:05:27 »
thanks. foxes seem to be main problem here.
havnt asked about fencing, it dosnt say not to in rules and every one else seems to have them. will try local agricultural suppliers, thanks.

oakmore2

• Half Acre
  • Rabbit surveillance officer
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2008, 13:31:20 »
Hi Brigitte