Author Topic: Well I never knew that....!  (Read 4256 times)

nittynora

• Quarter Acre
Well I never knew that....!
« on: August 03, 2008, 22:36:41 »
OK, so found out today that you are supposed to take off all the male flowers from courgettes/squashes except one or two ......... 

Father came round, tutted at our hermaphrodite plants and we picked off LOADS..........

I wonder how many other things he hasn't told us about .... Has anyoone else got similar tales/tips/admissions?? ;) ??? ::)

electric landlady

• Half Acre
  • digging, digging, digging (in Nottingham)
Re: Well I never knew that....!
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2008, 22:43:48 »
Are you?????

I never have. Have still got courgettes though. Does it make a difference?

Angelah

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2008, 22:44:41 »
Another novice here - so whats the difference between the flowers? I've not touched my squash plants - have one squash already, but loads of flowers - do I take them off  - when? Which ones? Help!!!!!

pigeonseed

• Hectare
  • Hastings
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2008, 22:49:57 »
I think you need male flowers to pollinate the female ones and produce courgettes. But maybe that's wrong. I think it's cucumbers where they get bitter if pollinated.

so you should leave all the flowers on your courgettes I think.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2008, 22:53:01 by pigeonseed »

Suzanne

• Hectare
  • sun is shining
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2008, 23:25:51 »
Pigeon seed you are spot on - it's only cucumbers and indoor ones at that where you remove the male flowers.

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2008, 23:34:51 »