Author Topic: Using chicken manure pellets  (Read 11023 times)

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
Using chicken manure pellets
« on: July 08, 2008, 10:19:21 »
Hi Im new to growing veg & have only had my allotment since spring this year....Having read the thread about the awful problems contaminated manure is causing all over the country I was wondering if the dried chicken pellets Ive seen could be used as a general manure all over my plot once Ive harvested my summer crops? Really dont want to risk using real manure & it will take me this winter to grow green manure crops.
Any suggestions for alternative ways to 'manure' welcomed  ;D

Ishard

• Hectare
Re: Using chicken manure pellets
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2008, 12:12:09 »
People usually use chicken manure pellets as they plant (or a week before) and during the crops growing not to leave for a while on the soil. I do use them too  :)

I think the idea of bulky manure is that it releases the goodness slowly over a few months whilst the pellets wont.

I would worry that if I used the pellets in way you are asking that the goodness would leach away before you could plant in the spring.

I am actually getting well rotted chicken manure for my allotment which I can spread thickly in winter over the area I need to.

So far no reports on chicken manure being contaminated.

Hope this helps

Jackie

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2008, 22:46:53 »
Thanks so much for your reply, as a real novice I had no idea about the manure pellets losing their goodness so quickly etc  ;D
Hope you dont mind me asking but where do you source your chicken manure from?   

Ishard

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2008, 04:36:02 »
You are very welcome Crystalmoon, its what this forum is all about.  ;D

I get mine from a farm where I store my caravan, its in the Leicestershire countryside. Not exactly sure where as its in the middle of nowhere lol

Im sure if you google 'chicken farms county?' you could get a supplier near you.  :)