Author Topic: Wonderful flavour!!  (Read 1976 times)

Duke Ellington

• Hectare
Wonderful flavour!!
« on: June 24, 2008, 14:24:26 »
I know that this might sound really feeble but this is my first year of having an allotment and Ive just pulled my first ever home ground radish! Honestly I cant believe how different its tastes to shop bought radishes! This had so much flavour/pepper/bite!! Now I know why you all grow your own veggies!!

Duke ;D
dont be fooled by the name I am a Lady!! :-*

Old bird

• Hectare
Re: Wonderful flavour!!
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2008, 14:28:19 »
Well done Duke Ellington!

It does taste different and so good!  It also tastes of "satisfaction" - that you grew it yourself and you can do it again and again and again with so many different plants and life is getting better and better!!

Old Bird

;D

tonybloke

• Hectare
  • Gorleston 0n sea, Norfolk
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2008, 20:23:08 »
Just wait 'til you get your first carrot! ;)
You couldn't make it up!

lolabelle

• Hectare
  • nero
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2008, 20:42:51 »
or new potato , YUM YUM ;)

jordsbabe

• Half Acre
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2008, 22:06:24 »
i'm  a newbie and this year i've started out with runner beans, they seem to be doing ok so far, tomatoes, the tumberling variety, lupins, my cucumber plant died when little un pulled up the root to check it was still growing  :o I really fancy doing raddish as i think it is something the little un can help me with and won't get to bored waiting for the outcome, i've heard they grow quite quickly, but am i too late to start them now?

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2008, 22:13:39 »
hi, jordsbabe, welcome to the site, we're sowing radish still, you can get a mixed pack of colours now, may be just the thing for your little 'un  ;D

jordsbabe

• Half Acre
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2008, 22:17:38 »