Author Topic: Dodgy spuds?  (Read 1431 times)

cockadoodledoo

• Not So New ...
Dodgy spuds?
« on: June 22, 2008, 17:02:53 »
Hi, Im hoping somebody can advise me on my potatoes.  Im new to my allotment and have never grown them before.   I dug a couple of plants up earlier to see what was what and there are lots that look like theyve split and then grown a bit leaving strange ridges in them.  Havent got a clue why theyre like this.  They did flower quite a while ago.  Have I left them too long or something?  Also, how many of eatable size are there supposed to be on each plant?  There doesnt seem to be many :(  Has anybody else got this problem?

OllieC

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Nairn
Re: Dodgy spuds?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2008, 17:11:48 »
Hi, Im hoping somebody can advise me on my potatoes.  Im new to my allotment and have never grown them before.   I dug a couple of plants up earlier to see what was what and there are lots that look like theyve split and then grown a bit leaving strange ridges in them.  Havent got a clue why theyre like this.  They did flower quite a while ago.  Have I left them too long or something?  Also, how many of eatable size are there supposed to be on each plant?  There doesnt seem to be many :(  Has anybody else got this problem?

It's due to irregular watering, probably, with the added possibility of growing them for too long... And if they're super earlies, about half a pound per plant is pretty good... most earlies would be a bit more.

cockadoodledoo

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2008, 17:24:11 »
oh no, best get the rest out asap :-[ Thanx

telboy

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments4All
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2008, 17:30:08 »
Not much to go on there. Was the variety an early or late?
Eskimo Nel was a great Inuit.

OllieC

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Nairn
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2008, 18:02:18 »
They did flower quite a while ago.