Author Topic: strawberry runners  (Read 7938 times)

mutty042130

• Quarter Acre
  • I love Allotments4All
strawberry runners
« on: June 16, 2008, 20:57:38 »
whats the best way to plant the runners from strawberrys? never done it before

STEVEB

• Acre
Re: strawberry runners
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2008, 20:59:22 »
I believe you just peg them down and let nature take over.
If it ain't broke don't fix it !!

keef

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2008, 21:03:11 »
Put some pots of compost under the runners, use a bit of wire to hold the runner in place. Once it rooted, cut off from the parent plant.

To be honest ive just let the root where they are in the ground before now, then cut them off once they rooted, dug them up and transplanted...
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

mutty042130

• Quarter Acre
  • I love Allotments4All
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2008, 21:36:13 »
cheers but is it the end bit you hold down in the soil or anywhere along the runner ?

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2008, 21:57:35 »
the bit with the leaves on, we peg it just behind the first bunch of leaves  :)

PurpleHeather

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2008, 06:00:00 »
It is usually a problem to stop runners from rooting with strawberries. I take them off until after fruiting has finished so that the strength goes into the fruit, then get the runners later.

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2008, 07:13:02 »
I place the runner in the bottom of a 3" pot which I then fill with compost.  It will eventually make its way to the top.  Once a healthy new leaf growth shows from the pot, I then cut the runner.  I would agree with Purpleheather and wait another couple of weeks before catching the runners.
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

springbok

• Hectare
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2008, 08:03:05 »