Author Topic: japanese knotweed  (Read 3381 times)

nsutherland

• Not So New ...
japanese knotweed
« on: June 13, 2008, 12:59:43 »
please help its my first year on the allotment and have dicovered this weed. what can i do? i have been told to keep pulling it up but i am worried this could spread it any advice i will be very greatful ???

Ant

• Half Acre
Re: japanese knotweed
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2008, 13:33:34 »
I think you have to contact your council if you have Japanese Knotweed, it is a very invasive weed and needs getting rid of properly.

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2008, 13:36:54 »
Are you sure it's Japanese knotweed?

id_Japaneseknotweed

Because it's designated as controlled waste and so you have to be careful how you dispose of it or any soil that might contain it.

Definitely do not cut it - it will just make things worse. Leave all the bits you pull  up on a tarpaulin until they are obviously dead then burn them

Are you on a council owned site?
« Last Edit: June 13, 2008, 13:39:19 by Barnowl »

Ant

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2008, 13:38:53 »
hmm, maybe not, but some councils do require you to report it.

The information is a bit misleading
http://www.defra.gov.uk/wildlife-countryside/non-native/knotweed.htm
says its not an issue if its on your land and you don't have to report it

Others say you can be liable for damage caused by it if its out of control on your land

http://www.cornwall.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=6568

has a whole section on what to do about it.

I would check with your allotment group and council first :)

nsutherland

• Not So New ...
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2008, 13:42:18 »
its council property but the woman who runs the site who told me it what it was told me to get rid of it befor council sees do you think i should report it to council anyway?

twinkletoes

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2008, 13:50:46 »