Author Topic: VEG/FRUIT PLANTS ETC VS SEEDS  (Read 1867 times)

margyf

• Not So New ...
VEG/FRUIT PLANTS ETC VS SEEDS
« on: May 27, 2008, 12:32:06 »
Hi

Really silly question but forgive me im new to all this.

I was wondering what makes more sense financially and in the long run.

I have already bought and planted some veg plants. (very good deal at my allotment plant sale)

I still have a few I need though and im wondering if im better buying plants (is it cheaper?

or  seeds if so how many packets does one buy of for example carrots??

Having only recently got the plot and clearing it all up im behind on planting so hence the reason for opting for veg plants etc.

But if buying seeds is just the same and waiting then I will do that.

Sorry i feel so silly asking silly questions but at least ill learn something new

Regards

???

OllieC

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Nairn
Re: VEG/FRUIT PLANTS ETC VS SEEDS
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2008, 12:45:52 »
I very rarely buy plants - you have far more choice when buying seeds & it's more satisfying to have them right from the start... I doubt it saves anything financially, in fact it probably costs more because you always buy too many seeds!

Plants are often the most sensible option when starting out, if you have very limited time, or if you don't have a big windowsill, IMHO.

daileg

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2008, 12:46:59 »
if its just carrots your wanting to know about they dont take too long and there is still plenty of time for them as in most things , seeds are definatly the cheaper option and is still time as i said before , plants could think about cabbage summer  .

all this depends on how much space you have left and what you havent got

more information requied to help any further

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2008, 07:31:07 »