Author Topic: Butternut Squash  (Read 2997 times)

alit

• Quarter Acre
  • I love Allotments 4 All
Butternut Squash
« on: July 27, 2004, 16:22:08 »
I saved some seeds from a bought butternut squash and sowed them, they all came up and have grown into lovely plants with lots of flowers.  the only problem is "no fruit"  None of the flowers have turned into butternut squashes.  Could anyone suggest why this may be happening.  I have planted about 6 plants out.

piglit

• Quarter Acre
  • Tall oaks… from little haycorns grow.
Re:Butternut Squash
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2004, 16:29:24 »
I don't know if there is special reason why you have no fruit as I am a newbie to all this but I have found that a similar thing happened with my courgette plants.  Lots of flowers and what looked like they would be fruit then nothing came of it.  However, I just left them to it and now, finally I have some almost whole courgettes. Maybe your squashes are the same... I think there is some technical reason like lack of pollonation but either way they are growing now!
"It is awfully hard to be b-b-brave," said Piglet, "when you are only a Very Small Animal."

alit

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2004, 16:32:46 »
thanks piglit.  That gives me hope.  I have grown yellow courgettes this year and they are doing so well that we are having to eat them every day.  The leaves are lovely too, so i grow mine in my flower boarders at home.  They get lots of water.

ALAN HOWELL

• Half Acre
  • I love Allotments4All
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2004, 16:49:22 »
Hi...I had this problem last season,but they eventually got their act together and produced 6 nice squashes from 2 plants,sooo I am not gonna worry about e'm this year   :-X.......Alan
« Last Edit: July 27, 2004, 16:50:11 by ALANG »
I GOT A LOTTA LOTTIE

alit

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2004, 16:50:55 »
Excellent - I'll worry no more - looks like all my friends will be getting butternut squashes then!!  thanks. ;D

Doris_Pinks