Author Topic: heating a greenhouse  (Read 3010 times)

weedgrower

• Half Acre
heating a greenhouse
« on: April 29, 2008, 10:54:16 »
i'm not very technical but have come up with an idea and would like to know if it would work

when i get my new greenhouse i want to heat it and cool it from solar power. i want to put a solar panel on my greenhouse and attach this to a car battery, so the battery is constantly being charged. i then want to run an electrical fan heater in the winter and a cooling fan in the summer from the battery. would this be possible or not. what would be the pitfalls. is there a better way to do it.

i know my initial outlay may be quite a few pounds but over the long term its gotr to be better that gas or parafin
takes over your life doesn't it

keef

• Hectare
Re: heating a greenhouse
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2008, 11:00:30 »
A car battery would'nt be able to hold enough charge to run a heater for very long.

You'd be better off building an insulated heat store under the floor - use the solar panel to run some fans to fill it up with warmth during the day and charge a small battery. Then at night use another fan (powered from the battery) to pull the warmth back out again. I think cambourne7 was going to make somthing like this....
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2008, 14:15:00 »

Plot69

• Hectare
  • Lincolnshire
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2008, 22:09:29 »
would this be possible or not.

I do it exactly that way all the time... Well, the cooling part I do. I have a solar panel connected directly to a large PC cooling fan. The brighter and hotter the sun gets, the faster the fan blows, When it's cloudy or not so bright the fan slows right down, just as you'd want it to, sort of self regulating I suppose.