Author Topic: purple sprouting brocoli  (Read 4290 times)

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
purple sprouting brocoli
« on: April 09, 2008, 20:49:44 »
Hi everyone Im a complete novice so this may be a really stupid question....... :-\
I have grown some Purple Sprouting broc seedlings, they are about 2 inches high at the moment & will need potting on soon.
Anyway i have just realised that as I only have half a plot I really dont have the room for them on my lottie as they grow so huge & need so much space. Would I be able to grow them in individual large plastic pots until I have harvested my summer salad crops & then transplant them into my lottie?

redimp

• Hectare
  • Colonia Domitiana Lindensium, Flavia Caesariensis
Re: purple sprouting brocoli
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2008, 20:52:14 »
Another member on here transplants them twice.  He puts them out at close spacing during the summer when space is tight and in the autumn he puts them at their correct spacing when there is not much else still growing.  This may be a solution for you.

I hope you don't mind me saying this RB but it does prove somebody reads your posts and takes notice ;D
Lotty @ Lincoln (Lat:53.24, Long:-0.52, HASL:30m)

http://www.abicabeauty

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2008, 21:12:07 »
Thanks redclanger for passing on this info.  I may be able to find room on the lottie for close spacing.   

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2008, 22:58:47 »
We don't put ours out in their final positions until later... after the early spuds are out...
 ;D

Eristic

• Hectare
  • NW London (Brent)
    • Down the Plot
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2008, 23:07:23 »