Author Topic: Allotment size  (Read 2024 times)

flowergirl

• Half Acre
  • i'm not the pretty blonde
Allotment size
« on: March 30, 2008, 19:39:20 »
my allotment is 125 foot by 23 foot.  this is my first year of growing on an allotment. can anyone advice me? Will i be self sufiecient i.e how mch veg can i expect?  I have used www.growveg.com and it appears that i can grow tonnes but has anyone got a similar sized allotment as I am a little wary of its predictions?  if you do, how much do you crop if you do?  Any answers much appreciated

Cheers flowergirl x

PurpleHeather

• Hectare
Re: Allotment size
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2008, 20:48:28 »
You have a good size plot about the same size as ours (which we have had for 10 years) and you could get enough fruit and vegetables to last you through the year.

It would be a bit boring to eat only what is in season but if you are prepared to cook. Freeze what produce freezes. Make meals to freeze or make jams and pickles then that would give you a good level of self sufficiency.

It is possible to get fresh vegetables all year round. Winter is the most difficult but with Brussels, savoy, kale, winter broccoli, leeks, swedes to name a few you could be reasonably sufficient.

Storage of roots is something to organise before you harvest too.

You wont suddenly become perfect with all the things you can do. It would be a full time job, looking after the land, the storage and the kitchen to become totally self sufficient. People who have small holdings and can survive on what they grow have been doing it for generations and still get problems with what they can not control. Like the weather.

A lot depends on how much you know about growing. What standard of living you expect to enjoy and how well you can cook, make your own wine and cordials even.

We have some trees apple, (eating and cooking) plum, pear, cherry and a newly bought peach.