Author Topic: absolute novice to growing veg  (Read 2399 times)

tig

• Half Acre
  • .....HI.....
absolute novice to growing veg
« on: July 17, 2004, 11:10:50 »
although i have been gardening for a few years i now want to turn my hand to the veggies and cant think of a better place for info than getting it from you guys :) i was going to use one side of a polytunnel for this using raised beds . the tunnel will be unheated and used over the winter months, thats if i can sow anything at that time of year.
im a complete novice to this so i would like info guiding me right from what type of soil or growing mediun to use to what to sow etc. thanks.
                    john .

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re:absolute novice to growing veg
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2004, 11:48:23 »
Just to get breathing space - why raised beds, when will it all be ready to sow, what area will you have, where are you, how many to feed, do you have mains water, electricity, how far from the house -??.??.?? = Tim

Multiveg

• Hectare
  • Oops, been gone a while, but still allotmenting.
    • Forum
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2004, 13:23:34 »
Well, you have winter and spring lettuces that you can bung in as well as other salad veg. You could try carrots - on the back of a packet of Early Nantes seeds, these ones can be sown in October under cover for an early spring crop. You could also try broad beans and peas, but they will need bees in late spring to set pods.
Allotment Blog - http://multiveg.wordpress.com/
Musings of a letter writer, stamp user and occasional Postcrosser - http://correspondencefan.blogspot.co.uk/

Jesse

• Hectare
    • News2Share
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2004, 19:56:09 »
I think the most important thing to consider is what do you and your family like to eat. No point growing things no-one is interested in eating! I looked at my weekly shop and considered what shop bought veg I could replace with home grown and that's what I decided to grow.