Author Topic: research -allotments -new  (Read 3001 times)

jrb111

research -allotments -new
« on: February 03, 2008, 16:33:36 »
I am a student at Glasgow University studying Community Learning and Development .I also work with a group of men who have an allotment at Springburn ,Glasgow.

What I am looking for is information regarding barriers to people using/accesssing allotments .These can be many and varied ,for example the ability for wheel chair use ,issues around where the allotment is (territorialism),perceptions as to who uses allotments ,lack of local knowledge ,cost of starting out -fencing ,plants and so forth .

What I would like is your own ideas ,knowledge and experiences.We all know people that talk about having an allotment but for some reason don't actually realise their intention, their views would also be welcome .

If you could possibly give this some consideration and relay the information of the next couple of weeks I would be most grateful

As this is an open forum I feel that this information may be of use to other allotment associations and the individuals in them.If nothing more it gives time for reflection on other peoples thoughts and may lead to action that can enhance allotment accessibility. 

Many thanks
« Last Edit: February 03, 2008, 16:38:26 by jrb111 »

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
Re: research -allotments -new
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2008, 17:58:23 »