Author Topic: TOOLS ETC  (Read 2219 times)

margyf

• Not So New ...
TOOLS ETC
« on: February 11, 2008, 14:10:38 »
Hi

I am new to the allotment world and must say I wish I had taken up a plot sooner.

I was keen to find out where one can purchase the best garden tools, Shed and gloves and seeds etc.

I have been on  various sites but its confusing to  know which one to go for so many choices.

I am not looking to spend too much so value for money.

I have tried freecycle and various other free exchange sites but with no luck.

So any help ideas would be much appreciated.

Thank you

foresterone

• Quarter Acre
Re: TOOLS ETC
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2008, 14:25:43 »
It pays to buy the best fork, spade ,etc you can afford (as I have discovered over the years). I have recently replaced the essentials after obtaining my allotment last year and won`t leave them there just in case someone else decides to help themselves. Not fellow gardeners but the local" tea leaves" !

redimp

• Hectare
  • Colonia Domitiana Lindensium, Flavia Caesariensis
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2008, 14:40:35 »
Wilkos are worth a look for relatively cheap good quality stuff. 
Lotty @ Lincoln (Lat:53.24, Long:-0.52, HASL:30m)

http://www.abicabeauty

posie

• Hectare
  • Slowly winning??
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2008, 14:52:01 »
Definitely Wilko's and Instore if you have one near you (might find it's a PoundStretcher).  Failing that you could try Ebay for the smaller bits and pieces.
What I lack in ability and experience, I make up for in sheer enthusiasm!!!

glosterwomble

• Hectare
  • Gloucester - The South West
    • Fork it...a Gloucester allotment
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2008, 19:53:52 »
My local carboot sale has always come up trumps for me, I paid £3-£4 for spades and forks and approx £2.50-£3.50 for hoes, rake, shears etc. Thay were all good tools with LOTS of useful life left in them.
View my blog on returning a totally
 overgrown plot in Gloucester