Author Topic: Enthusiastic newbie with lots of questions!  (Read 1439 times)

veggiepatch

• Not So New ...
  • Jazzy Cat
Enthusiastic newbie with lots of questions!
« on: February 11, 2008, 11:17:04 »
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie and came across this fab site while finding out how to best plant my new patch. You guys seem a friendly knowledgable bunch so thought I'd ask a few questions...

1. My patch is modist 3ft by 6ft on a slope with a clay soil with lots of horrid flints. Any ideas on what I should plant towards the bottom? Something that likes water and a bit of shade?

2. I'm trying to germinate chillis for a container, when they come through should I pop them outside in individual pots or keep them in the warmth?

3. I've planted my spinach and carrot seeds straight outside as the packet suggests, but I'm worrying they won't take. Should I have a back up plan?

Thanks guys!!  ;D

Lauren S

• Hectare
  • Delightful Devon
Re: Enthusiastic newbie with lots of questions!
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2008, 11:43:00 »
1. My patch is modist 3ft by 6ft on a slope with a clay soil with lots of horrid flints. Any ideas on what I should plant towards the bottom? Something that likes water and a bit of shade?

Hi Veggiepatch and welcome to A4A..
Glad you found this site.
Can I suggest, as your plot is 3ft x 6ft, why not built a raised bed and that would get rid of your sloping problems. You might have to pick out as many flints as you possible can. I don't know what you intend to grow, but carrots and parsnips don't care much for stones. It tends to make them *fork* or create rude shapes  :o

I'm only a beginner so your question about chillis will have to be answered by the experts  ;)
Lauren
:) Net It Or You Won't Get It  :)

5rod

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2008, 11:50:40 »
HI 5ROD HERE  WELCOME
I WOULD KEEP CHILLIS INSDE OR IN HEATED
GREENHOUSE .NOT TO GO OUT TO JUNE,WHERE ARE YOU UK???.
FLINT NOT GOOD FOR CARROTS
RAISE BED BEST FOR YOU.
HOPE THIS HELP