Author Topic: RHS Level 2 Certificate in Horticulture  (Read 1176 times)

Sparkly

• Hectare
    • Flixton Band (Manchester)
RHS Level 2 Certificate in Horticulture
« on: February 10, 2008, 00:50:48 »
Has anyone completed this course? I was thinking about doing a general interest type college course in the evening at a local college. I am a biology teacher, but my gardening knowledge is not really very good. We have had our allotment for 1 year and I have certainly learnt alot. I am not really bothered about gaining the qualification as such, but I would like an interesting gardening course that may help with the theory. I would also like to learn about different (non-edible) plants as I know nothing!

Thegoodlife

• Half Acre
Re: RHS Level 2 Certificate in Horticulture
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2008, 08:20:29 »
The best college course to do is experience from your fellow allotment holders ;), no college course could teach you knowledge of veg growing its just trial & error, when i started at the age of 12 i had a book & wrote every thing in, even had my granddad to help & over the years I've built up a what i think is a good knowledge.
save your money & as many people say don't run before you can walk! ;D
today i will be growin veg!!

springbok

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2008, 09:11:16 »
I have enrolled for the above course, find out wednesday if I have the funding to do it :)  I want do to the course to actually work within gardens and nurserys though :)

However, I have to admit, as a first time gardener I have learnt more from this forum in a few months than all the books. 
Other peoples experience is invaluable and have always had my questions answered.

Sparkly

• Hectare
    • Flixton Band (Manchester)
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2008, 18:59:29 »