Author Topic: No allotment. Raised bed.  (Read 1054 times)

fishamble

No allotment. Raised bed.
« on: February 12, 2008, 02:09:38 »
Hi. I live in Ireland and as such do not have an allotment and cannot get one.
I do have a cobbled back yard but it only really gets direct sunlight around midday as it is surrounded by a high fence. I was thinking of building a table consisting of a 6*4 ft plywood sheet about 2 feet off the ground.
The table would have a depth of roughly 2 to 3 feet of soil.
What do you think of this idea?
Would drainage be a problem?
Could i grow much in such a confined space?
I cannot remove the cobbles and have no other real option.
I am a complete novice to this so any opinions are appreciated

springbok

• Hectare
Re: No allotment. Raised bed.
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2008, 07:47:36 »
Hi there,
Try Square foot gardening... just google the term.  Great way to grow in confined spaces.
Advice I have been given here is the above, plus you can grow in large pots and buckets.

Lauren S

• Hectare
  • Delightful Devon
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2008, 08:26:52 »
Hi Fishamble and welcome to A4A.
I don't see why your high rise raised beds would be a problem. It sounds like the idea Geoff Hamilton built in his cottage garden. He built what he called a table top raised bed. As long as you have drainage holes in the base and a good depth of soil or compost you will be amazed at what you can grow in a small space.
Oh I just googled and found this for you. I hope it's of some use.
http://www.extension.iastate.edu/Publications/RG111.pdf

On this second link, click through the pictures and you will also see more table top raised beds, plus it's also the link to square foot gardening.
Good luck and don't forget we'd like to see your pics when you have finished. (We are very nosey)  ;D
Lauren  :)

http://www.squarefootgardening.com/
:) Net It Or You Won't Get It  :)

fishamble

« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2008, 16:06:29 »
Thanks for the great replies.