Author Topic: Which is the best breadmaker ?  (Read 15520 times)

killerflies

• Half Acre
    • Killerflies CDC and IRISH flies
Re: Which is the best breadmaker ?
« Reply #20 on: January 29, 2008, 17:20:53 »

Is that Dough book any good??

Im a complete novice at bread making any was on the look out for such a thing.....

Dont mean to hijack.......sorry!

Baccy Man

• Hectare
  • Powys, Wales
« Reply #21 on: January 29, 2008, 17:45:48 »

Is that Dough book any good??

Im a complete novice at bread making any was on the look out for such a thing.....

Dont mean to hijack.......sorry!

It won the International Association of Culinary Professionals (IACP) 2006 Cookbook of the Year Award, the Julia Child Award for First Book, the James Beard Foundation Award for Best Cookery Book - Baking & Desserts and the Guild of Food Writers Jeremy Round Award for Best First Book. Shortlisted for the Glenfiddich Food & Drink Awards Best Food Book & Best Photography and the Andre Simon Memorial Fund Award for Best Cookery Book 2005.

This is a quote from someone on a bread making forum I use givimg their opinion on the book.

http://www.thefreshloaf.com/forum
I have purchased Dough by R Bertinet and I think it is an excellent refreshing book on making bread. It may seem quite basic to some, but I have been baking bread for 15 years and there is always some tidbit to be picked up. What he communicates well in this book is from five basic recipes, many, many breads. And some novel breads they are, bread shots with little treats poked inside balls of dough, puff balls with salad greens hidden inside, morrocan spice rolls all with your basic french bread and it continues in that vein throughout the book. Like Floyd encourages, Richard really allows you to expand your horizons and think outside the white bread box per say.