Author Topic: Help - Newbie here  (Read 1601 times)

Nick65

• Not So New ...
    • www.thepinksugarmouse.com
Help - Newbie here
« on: January 20, 2008, 23:38:06 »
Hi All

I've had an allotment for 3 months now - Been weeding it and getting it up to scratch, so the kids could be with us in a safe environment as well, but now is the time to start - So , basically what can I start doing now that will only involve planting seeds into the ground?

I want to do Onions, Shallots, Garlic, Rhubarb, Strawberries, Raspberries and Carrots.

I just want to start off nice and easily for the first year as I am in charge of organising it and I am also disabled - Just walking wounded though  ;)

Thanks

Nick
Dentists be warned!! - DON'T Look at my website it'll increase your business :))

Nick65

• Not So New ...
Re: Help - Newbie here
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2008, 23:39:42 »
I forgot to say I am in Poole (Tatnam Farm) Allotments, if that helps  ???
Dentists be warned!! - DON'T Look at my website it'll increase your business :))

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2008, 00:59:55 »
Not much really, other than preparing the plot. (I have just posted to your inbox.)
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

star

• Hectare
  • Northampton, sm greenhouse, heated propagator
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2008, 01:52:55 »
Hiya Nick and welcome, enjoy the site loads of great advice and sarcasm....er ....tips ;D ;D ;D
I was born with nothing and have most of it left.

sarah

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2008, 07:51:15 »
hi. i think you can get most of those things going about now. onion and shallot sets are in the shops. rhubarb - i would ask around your site, you may find that people are dividing their own patches now and there is always some about.  raspberries can go in anytime till about march i think, and carrots can go in in a couple of months when its a bit warmer.