Author Topic: Amonia  (Read 4410 times)

Chloe

• Half Acre
  • I am very proud of that
Amonia
« on: July 04, 2004, 22:52:10 »
Does the amonia in the pond have anything to do with fish wee and pooh?
Chloe:)

Roy Bham UK

• Hectare
  • Let's press flesh
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/roybhamuk
Re:Amonia
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2004, 23:18:59 »
Hi Chloe, quick answer yes and it’s a killer, I’m no expert but I believe it’s down to over feeding, to get the correct balance you either need a good filtration system to break down the ammonia or plenty of plant life that will use the waste as fertiliser and in return repay the fish by putting back the goodness in the form of plant protein thus completing the cycle.

Cut back on the feeding and do a 25% water change if things look serious.
Hope this helps till someone with more expertise comes along.

Roy.

Chloe

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2004, 08:35:47 »
Hello Roy,

Thank you for your replies.  The problem I have is that my pond is on my allotment plot, so cannot have a filter.  My pond has been magic, with no problems until about 2 months ago when the water started to become murky.  The top couple of inches was still crystal clear but underneath it was looking heavy and the whole pond looked brown.  None of the products in the shops said anything about brown water it was all for green water.  As the pond seemed far too full of plants I removed loads of them.  As you can imagine it made it worse as I had stirred up all the mud from the bottom.  Then I thought I might have too many fish.  A plot holder on Thursday said my brown water was dead algea and I also did a PH test the PH was reading 9.0, so I have started treating the pond for that.  I then took a sample of the water to the garden centre and he said it was perfect and to leave well alone and it would sort itself out in the winter.  My concern is for my fish and wildlife and not what the water looks like.