Author Topic: Worried about my Brahma...  (Read 2377 times)

DadnDom

• Half Acre
Worried about my Brahma...
« on: July 11, 2007, 21:06:16 »
I picked my brahma up tonight and it feels like she has a lump on her chest. I am new to keeping chickens. As they are starting to trust me more I am trying to handle them more (we're both a bit wary of each other lol) when we first had her she had a patch of white feathers on her chest, I thought it was normal but when I picked her up tonight it feels like she has a lump there  ???
You can see the patch of white feathers on her chest in the photo below. Does anybody know what the lump could be and could it be serious or something simple? Am quite worried as she is my favourite :(

Shot with Canon EOS 350D DIGITAL at 2007-07-11

OliveOil

• Hectare
  • Lincs
    • Phoenix Traders Forum
Re: Worried about my Brahma...
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2007, 22:09:02 »
aww she is beautiful!

There are two things that come to mind... check her chest again in the morning before she eats anything... if it has gone down then that is fine.

It looks like she has over filled her crop to be honest - so long as it goes down considerably by the morning then dont worry.

If its still that big then it looks like impacted crop. Not had to deal with that so cant help other than to get her to take liquid paraffin and massage the crop - do a search on pekin bantam site and they will give more advice if that is what the problem is.

Lastly if she is pecking at the site and stretching her neck and yawning wierdly could be gapeworm - i'm pretty sure flubenvet will treat that - i have loads if you need any.

Marymary

• Hectare
  • Norwich
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2007, 22:12:15 »
Beat me to it OO.  :) I suspect it's her crop you are feeling - if she has been eating corn you might be able to feel the individual grains through her skin!  It's a good sign if it is nice & full as she is eating well. 

DadnDom

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2007, 22:48:16 »